Next Performance of

What She Knows: One Woman’s Way Through Incest to Joy

Thursday December 6th, 2018 “Creating Resilience from ACEs* to Joyful Advocacy!”

Conference presented by: Building Connections: the Sexual Assault & Mental Health Project

The performance and audience dialogue will be in the morning followed by a writing workshop in the afternoon.


First Unitarian Universalist Society of Albany 405 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206

9:30am- 4:30pm. Registration information will be announced soon and found at and

*ACEs refers to Adverse Childhood Experiences

Upcoming Book Readings with Audience Dialogues

  • Wednesday November 7th, Huntington, NY Date & Time TBA

  • Thursday August 9th, 7:00 to 8:00pm Tewksbury Public Library, 300 Chandler St,

    Tewksbury MA

  • Friday August 17th, 1:00 to 3:00pm Sheboygan County Health & Human Services 1011 N. 8th St. Sheboygan, WI

  • Tuesday May 8th from 6:00 to 7:30pm Jones Library, 43 Amity St. Amherst, MA

  • Friday May 11th from 6:00 to 7:30pm at the Book House of Styvesant Plaza. 1475 Western Ave. #62, Albany, NY

  • Thursday May 17th from 6:00 to 7:30pm at the Athol Public Library. 568 Main St. Athol, MA

  • Friday May 18th from 4:00 to 8:00pm the first Author's Cabaret` at the Anchor House of Artists Art Gallery. We'll be 8 author's doing 10 minute readings interspersed with musicians playing. Drop in for some libation and tapas along with the artists' sharing. 518 Pleasant St, Northampton, MA

  • Sunday May 20th from 2:00 to 4:00pm at the Cambridge Public Library Lecture Hall with quilt display from the Survivor Quilt Project. 499 Broadway, Cambridge, MA 2nd Floor

The Play  

What She Knows:

One Woman's Way Through Incest to Joy

What She Knows is a one-woman performance which depicts a full range of what it is like to grow up in a sexually abusive family; what one woman experienced and then did to reclaim her life and make it worth living. Witness the main character figuratively (and once literally) dancing between her life’s joys and traumas, between time periods and experiences showing how she survived and ultimately came to thrive.

The original score, composed and performed by master guitarist John Sheldon, provides live music that weaves a heightened impact into the play’s dramatic tempo and opens audiences to the full richness of its sadness’ and delights.

The play is presented as a 60 minute dramatic reading by the author, Donna Jenson. In a post performance dialogue the audience is invited to engage with Donna, exploring the issues surrounding sexual abuse that What She Knows has raised for them. Jackie Humphreys, LICSW, is present at all performances, available to audience members needing support. 

To book a performance and community dialogue

Click the sign up box

Winter Workshop TBA

Come join us on our next journey to discover what we each have to say, express, write and share within a supportive group of incest and child sexual abuse survivors. The format is an amalgamation of two primary activities:

  1. Writing & reading our writing to each other and

  2. Gentle Yoga & Mindfulness practices

We are convinced that by combining these two we can move in and out of the myriad of emotions and impressions our experiences have placed within us to finding the joy and strength of our true selves.

There are threads of common purpose for writing within a supportive group – to catch the undercurrent of our minds, spread it out on the page and see what we make of it to:

•    broaden self awareness

•    pour out feelings and emotions onto paper

•    reclaim or preserve memories of ourselves, people, and events

•    sort out thoughts and clarify ideas

•    reap the wisdom of the unconscious

Our yoga and mindfulness practices are designed in synergy with the writing, supporting nonjudgmental self-awareness, acceptance and creativity. Our bodies often hold our experiences of trauma, loss or suffering on a cellular, muscular and visceral level, constricting our capacity to be fully present.

By engaging in gentle yoga postures: simple twists, heart opening stretches; breathing practices: breath awareness and deepening; and mindfulness practices such as connecting with our highest intentions, we clear the obstacles to our creativity and compassion which opens us to experience our own clear voice in the present moment.

Consider giving yourself and your voice this gift of attention. We’re all so worth it.